Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The ORCRB Building

Welcome to the Nuffield Department of Medicine. We are a large research and teaching department with a grant portfolio of over £700m, 1,000 employees in the UK and 2,000 associated staff overseas programmes. Our aim is to translate scientific discovery into clinical impact and we are known for:

  • Integrating basic science and clinical specialities
  • Pioneering the use of molecular, structural biology and genetics to study human disease
  • World famous major tropical medicine units in Kenya, Thailand and Vietnam, with permanent units in six other countries.
  • Drug Discovery programmes, clinical biomanufacturing and clinical trials
  • Big Data
  • Vaccine Development
  • Human Immunology and the study of pathogens

Professor Richard Cornall and Sir Peter Ratcliffe

Professor Richard Cornall and Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe on receipt of his Nobel Prize, 2019

Richard Cornall - Head of Department

Professor Richard Cornall - Head of Department

Richard Cornall is the Nuffield Professor of Clinical Medicine and has been the Head of Department since July 2019. He is a nephrologist and immunologist who is interested in adaptive immunity, self-tolerance and autoimmune disease. He trained in Cambridge, Oxford, London and Stanford before returning to the University of Oxford, where he was a Wellcome Trust Senior Fellow and then Professor of Immunology.

Previous Nuffield Professors of Medicine were Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe (Nobel Prize in Medicine 2019); Professor Sir John Bell, currently the Regius Professor of Medicine in Oxford; and Sir David Weatherall. The Department was established in 1937 through the generosity of William Morris, Lord Nuffield.