Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

We had a great response to the announcement of the Head of Department Public Engagment Prize in 2015, with many excellent nominations. Choosing amongst these was extremely difficult, and the Nuffield Department of Medicine has therefore decided to award multiple awards, in recognition of the many people in the department doing excellent work engaging the public with science.

diamondopenday20152.jpegThe award winners are:

In the individual category: Dr Dianne Newbury from the Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics won a principle investigator prize. Drs Emma Hudson from the STOP-HCV consortium and Lynda Coughlan from the Jenner Institute were joint first prize winners for an individual award in the early-career researcher sub-category. 

In the group category, the department again decided to give out more than one award. Professor Danny Wilson from the Modernising Medical Microbiology research consortium received an award in recognition of their long-term public engagement programme, with prizes for Sarah Earle and Claudia Lindemann within his group.

Members of Professor Ian Pavord's group (Katie Borg, Clare Connolly, Kirsty Hambleton, Samantha Thulborn, Tim Powell and Jennifer Cane) also received prizes for kickstarting a new public engagement programme very successfully.

All prize winners will receive £200 in recognition of their efforts.

In the International category, Dr Mary Chambers from OUCRU in Vietnam has won funding to bring an event to the UK for the Cheltenham Science Festival in 2016. 

In addition, the Division of Structural Biology was awarded a special 'Challenge Fund' prize, receiving £500 to further develop their public engagement programme.