François Nosten wins science diplomacy award


In mid-Nov, in recognition of his 35 years of work fighting malaria in the conflict zones of the Thai-Myanmar border and for bringing around the same table Karen and Burmese representatives to discuss malaria elimination, François Nosten, director of the Shoklo Malaria Research Unit (SMRU), was awarded the 2014 TWAS Regional Prize for Science Diplomacy. The award comes with a U$3,000 cheque that will go towards SMRU finances.

The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS) is an autonomous international organization that promotes scientific capacity and excellence in scientific research. Founded as the Third World Academy of Sciences by a group of eminent scientists under the leadership of the late Nobel Laureate Abdus Salam of Pakistan in 1983, TWAS was officially launched in Trieste, Italy, in 1985, by the Secretary General of the United Nations. TWAS funding and staff are administered by UNESCO. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Italy provides a major portion of TWAS funds.