Anti-Bullying & Harassment

The University, and the Department, does not tolerate any form of bullying, harassment or victimisation and expects all members of the University community, its visitors and contractors to treat each other with respect, courtesy and consideration.

Training Courses and Resources


NDM aims to maximise the use of the training courses and resources available within the University to facilitate the enhancement of understanding and foster an inclusive culture which promotes equality, values diversity and to create an environment in which the rights and dignity of all our staff and students are respected. With this in mind, all new staff members, regardless of staff category or seniority, are required to complete the Equality and Diversity and Challenging Behaviour on-line courses which are detailed in the course listing run by People and Organisational Development, as well as Unconscious Bias Training run within NDM, or through the University course, in order to complete their probation.

In December 2019,  NDM launched a Bullying and Harassment Poster, which can be found throughout NDM. It is our intention that this poster helps to raise awareness and guide our staff and students to the support available.

We would also encourage all staff to view the resources, advice and training available via the Equality and Diversity Harassment Advice website page.

 

NDM Harassment Advisors

NDM now has 20 Harassment Advisors, who are part of the University’s confidential harassment advisor network and are trained to listen and confidentially support those who feel they are being harassed or bullied. Further staff members are currently going through the training and will join this group of Advisors soon. Talking through the events and your feelings with the advisor will help you decide on the best way to deal with the behaviour and will clarify the options available to you. We have recently added some new advisors to our network. Information on the harassment advisers in each NDM unit are available below and on posters around the department

We would also encourage you to make yourself familiar with the University Policy and Procedure on Harassment and Bullying. This will explain the process that will be followed to resolve issues both formally and informally.

What can the harassment advisor do?

  • Listen to staff and students who believe they are being harassed, to clarify the options open to them and to assist them in resolving the matter informally where possible and provide similar support to those accused of harassment.
  • Where requested, support individuals throughout the resolution of their concerns. This may include discussing with the individual what they may wish to say or write to the person whom they feel has harassed or bullied them, or how they might approach a senior member of staff for assistance in resolving the issue. This list is not exhaustive, but includes empowering and supporting the individual.
  • Deal with all cases with the utmost confidentiality except in cases where there is an unacceptable risk to a member of staff, student or to the institution.

The harassment advisor cannot:

  • approach the alleged harasser in an attempt to mediate or resolve the matter for you;
  • act as your representative or advocate; or
  • be involved in any formal stage of the process, be it in writing the formal complaint, the investigation, disciplinary or grievance procedures, except by way of giving you the support you need during this time.

 

NDM Harassment Advisors:

 

Tropical Medicine:
Farai Zhou (based in Oxford) farai.zhou@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Elena Ratcliff (based in Oxford) elena.ratcliff@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Catherine Kenyatta (based in Kenya) catherine.kenyatta@ndm.ox.ac.uk
ORCRB:
 Nick Edwards (Jenner) nick.edwards@ndm.ox.ac.uk
 Katie Ewer (Jenner) katie.ewer@ndm.ox.ac.uk
 Rachel Roberts (CCVTM) rachel.roberts@ndm.ox.ac.uk
 Nicola Burgess-Brown (SGC) nicola.burgess-brown@sgc.ox.ac.uk
 Jonathan Lowe (SGC) jonathan.lowe@sgc.ox.ac.uk
Veronica Counsell (Ludwig Institute) veronica.counsell@ludwig.ox.ac.uk
Richard Lisle (Ludwig Institute) richard.lisle@ludwig.ox.ac.uk
WHG:
Calli Dendrou cdendrou@well.ox.ac.uk
Daniel Biggs daniel.biggs@well.ox.ac.uk
Claire Scudder claires@well.ox.ac.uk
Adam Ritchie adam.ritchie@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Rachael Bashford-Rogers rachael.bashford-rogers@well.ox.ac.uk
Claire Morris claire.morris@strubi.ox.ac.uk
Experimental Medicine:
Carolina Arancibia carolina.arancibia@ndm.ox.ac.uk
James Dean james.dean@ndm.ox.ac.uk
NDMRB:
Kate Humphrey kate.humphrey@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Darren Blase darren.blase@ndm.ox.ac.uk

 

You are welcome to contact any of the advisors within NDM. Should you want to speak with an advisor who does not work in NDM, the Harassment Line can find an alternative advisor for you.

Telephone: 01865 270760

E-mail: harassment.line@admin.ox.ac.uk