Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The Nuffield Professor of Medicine

FRCP, FMedSci Richard Cornall - Nuffield Professor of Clinical Medicine and Head of DepartmentThe Nuffield Professorship of Clinical Medicine is a chair at the University of Oxford, established in 1937 with the endowment of William Morris, Lord Nuffield. The chair is the Head of Department of the Nuffield Department of Medicine, and is also associated with a fellowship of Magdalen College.

Professor Richard Cornall has been the current Nuffield Professor of Clinical Medicine and Head of Department since 2019. He is a nephrologist and immunologist who is interested in adaptive immunity, self-tolerance and autoimmune disease. He trained in Cambridge, Oxford, London and Stanford before returning to the University of Oxford, where he was a Wellcome Trust Senior Fellow and then Professor of Immunology.

Previous Nuffield Professors of Medicine include Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe, winner of the Nobel Prize in Medicine 2019; Professor Sir John Bell, currently the Regius Professor of Medicine in Oxford; and Sir David Weatherall

Offices of the Nuffield Professor of Medicine

The Head of Department has a small team of specialist staff dedicated to specific functional areas, known as NDM Strategic. These staff are led by Darren Nash, Associate Head of Department (Academic Support & Finance).

The primary aim of these posts is to assist Head of Units, senior academics and local administrators with work related to large and complex projects, strategic initiatives, or backfilling senior administrative posts as required.

These posts also provide a buffer to strategic and operational changes generated from outside the Department, ranging from the implementation of new finance systems, to external funder related negotiations and horizon scanning for risks and opportunities related to their specialist areas.

The NDM Strategic team underpin the primary administration provided directly within the six main geographic based administration centres of the Department.

NDM Strategic Team

Darren Nash, Associate Head of Department 

Ed GibbsChief Operating Officer

Bron Marguerie de Rotrou, Director of Finance and Operations

Elena McPhilbin, NDM Head of Human Resources

Caroline Gregory, NDM Head of Finance

Karen Valentine, NDM Governance Manager

Gem Brown, NDM Head of Grant Management

Sarah Hoosdally, NDM Head of Research Delivery

Marin Hirschfeld, NDM Head of Communications

Ben Heath, NDM Head of Compliance and Assurance

Erica Ballabio, NDM Contracts Manager

Kathryn Smith, PA to Head of Department

Priya Govindassamy, PA to Associate Head of Department/Governance Admin

Unit Administrators

CAMS Oxford Institute Business Manager Karen Valentine karen.valentine@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Centre for Human Genetics Business Manager Hannah Roberts hannah.roberts@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Centre for Human Genetics Deputy Business Manager Fiona Williams fiona.williams@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Centre for Immuno-Oncology Business Manager Camilo Quevedo camilo.quevedo@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Centre for Medicines Discovery Business Manager Nick Croman nick.croman@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Centre for Medicines Discovery Deputy Business Manager Hannah Bolter hannah.bolter@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Centre for Tropical Medicine and Global Health Business Manager Daniel Haggarty daniel.haggarty@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Centre for Tropical Medicine and Global Health Deputy Business Manager Laura Groves laura.groves@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Clinical Bio-Manufacturing Facility Business Manager Verity Nevin verity.nevin@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Experimental Medicine Division Senior Business Manager Jo Hovard jo.hovard@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Jenner Institute Business Manager Becky Norris becky.norris@ndm.ox.ac.uk
KEMRI Wellcome Trust (Kenya)  Chief Operating Officer Catherine Kenyatta ckenyatta@kemri-wellcome.org
Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research Business Manager Camilo Quevedo camilo.quevedo@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Mahidol Oxford Tropical Medicine Research Unit (Thailand) Chief Operating Officer David Burton david.burton@tropmedres.ac
Medawar Pathogen Research Senior Business Manager Jo Hovard jo.hovard@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Oxford University Clinical Research Unit (Vietnam) Head of Operations Sarah Barton sbarton@oucru.org
Pandemic Sciences Institute Business Manager David Bartle david.bartle@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Structural Biology Business Manager Hannah Roberts hannah.roberts@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Structural Biology Deputy Business Manager Fiona Williams fiona.williams@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Structural Biology Unit Administrator Melissa Matthews mel@strubi.ox.ac.uk
Target Discovery Institute Business Manager Nick Croman nick.croman@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Target Discovery Institute Deputy Business Manager Hannah Bolter hannah.bolter@ndm.ox.ac.uk