Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Offices of the Nuffield Professor of Medicine

The Nuffield Professor has a small team of specialist staff dedicated to specific functional areas, known as NDM Strategic. These staff are led by Darren Nash, Associate Head of Department (Academic Support & Finance).

The primary aim of these posts is to assist Head of Units, senior academics and local administrators with work related to large and complex projects, strategic initiatives, or backfilling senior administrative posts as required.

These posts also provide a buffer to strategic and operational changes generated from outside the Department, ranging from the implementation of new finance systems, to external funder related negotiations and horizon scanning for risks and opportunities related to their specialist areas.

The NDM Strategic team underpin the primary administration provided directly within the six main geographic based administration centres of the Department.

NDM Strategic Team

Darren Nash, Associate Head of Department 

Ed Gibbs, Director of Finance and Operations

Bron Marguerie de Rotrou, Director of Finance and Operations

Elena McPhilbin, NDM Head of Human Resources

Samantha Branch, NDM Head of Finance

Karen Valentine, NDM Head of Operations and Improvement

Gem Brown, NDM Head of Grant Management

Sarah Hoosdally, NDM Head of Research Delivery

Marin Hirschfeld, NDM Head of Communications

Noel Lawlor, NDM Compliance Manager

Erica Ballabio, NDM Contracts Manager

Kathryn Smith, PA to Head of Department

Unit Administration

Please see either the Institutes, Centres & Units or the Research Buildings pages for explanations of abbreviations used.

BDI (NDM) Business Manager Becky Norris becky.norris@ndm.ox.ac.uk
CBF Business Manager Verity Nevin verity.nevin@ndm.ox.ac.uk
CCMP Business Manager Sue Wilson sue.wilson@well.ox.ac.uk
CCMP Deputy Business Manager Fiona Williams fiona.williams@ndm.ox.ac.uk
CCVTM Business Manager Verity Nevin verity.nevin@ndm.ox.ac.uk
CMD Business Manager Janine Crispin janine.crispin@ndm.ox.ac.uk
CMD Deputy Business Manager Hannah Bolter hannah.bolter@ndm.ox.ac.uk
COI Business Manager Karen Valentine karen.valentine@ndm.ox.ac.uk
EXPMED Senior Business Manager Jo Hovard jo.hovard@ndm.ox.ac.uk
JENNER Business Manager Gary Strickland gary.strickland@ndm.ox.ac.uk
KWTRP - Kenya Chief Operating Officer Catherine Kenyatta ckenyatta@kemri-wellcome.org
LICR Unit Administrator Camilo Quevedo camilo.quevedo@ndm.ox.ac.uk
Medawar Senior Business Manager Jo Hovard jo.hovard@ndm.ox.ac.uk
MORU - Thailand Chief Operating Officer David Burton david.burton@tropmedres.ac
NDM-RB Business Manager Janine Crispin janine.crispin@ndm.ox.ac.uk
NDM-RB Deputy Business Manager Hannah Bolter hannah.bolter@ndm.ox.ac.uk
OUCRU - Vietnam Head of Operations Sarah Barton sbarton@oucru.org
PSI Business Manager David Bartle david.bartle@ndm.ox.ac.uk
STRUBI Business Manager Sue Wilson sue.wilson@well.ox.ac.uk
STRUBI Deputy Business Manager Fiona Williams fiona.williams@ndm.ox.ac.uk
STRUBI Unit Administrator Melissa Matthews mel@strubi.ox.ac.uk
TDI Business Manager Janine Crispin janine.crispin@ndm.ox.ac.uk
TDI Deputy Business Manager Hannah Bolter hannah.bolter@ndm.ox.ac.uk
TROPMED Business Manager Daniel Haggarty daniel.haggarty@ndm.ox.ac.uk
TROPMED Deputy Business Manager Laura Groves laura.groves@ndm.ox.ac.uk
WCHG Business Manager Sue Wilson sue.wilson@well.ox.ac.uk
WCHG Deputy Business Manager Fiona Williams fiona.williams@ndm.ox.ac.uk