Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Each year, the Nuffield Department of Medicine awards prizes to its graduate research students for various achievements, including success in terms of discoveries and published work, significant achievements in establishing infrastructure, success in strongly collaborative projects, and involvement in public engagement and other departmental activities.

2019 marks 100 of the DPhil programme in Oxford, making this a very special year for our DPhil students awardees. The awards ceremony took place on Tuesday 12th of November at Oxford University Museum of Natural History. 

Our guests were able to view the University’s DPhil centenary photography exhibition during the event.   A full list of winners is below.

NDM Overall Prize

  • Anita Gola
  • Dr Daniel G. W. Alanine
  • Georgina Bowyer
  • Thao Le Thi Phuong

Student Prizes by Year Group

Year 4

  • Dr Makoto Saito
  • Virginia Schmid

Year 3

  • Janine Gray - Award

Year 2

  • Ryan Walker – Award
  • Maria Prange-Barczynska - Award

Public Engagement prize

  • Lauren Wedekind

Outstanding work outside of degree Prize

  • Davide Bilardi - Award