Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Established in 1998, the Academy of Medical Sciences is one of the four UK National Academies, coordinating scholarly research activities and standards in the UK.

Prof James Naismith - Vice President of the Academy of Medical Sciences

Professor Naismith takes over from Professor Michael Malim FMedSci, who demits the role in December. The Vice President serves a four-year term as one of six Honorary Officers, the Academy’s key decision-making group. In this role, Professor Naismith will represent the expertise of non-clinical disciplines in the delivery of our 10-year strategy

Professor Naismith was elected to the Academy’s Fellowship in 2012 in recognition of his achievements. Following two decades at the University of St Andrews, he is currently Professor of Structural Biology at the Nuffield Department of Medicine and Director of the Rosalind Franklin Institute.

As Director of the Rosalind Franklin Institute, Professor Naismith oversees the development of new technologies to tackle health challenges, from antimicrobial resistance to emerging diseases. He is a world leading expert in structural biology, blending structural analysis with mechanistic study to develop new approaches to answer chemical problems in biology.

Professor Naismith commented: "I look forward to trying to repay the trust shown in me by my election to the Academy’s Honorary Officers. Medical science is vitally important to the health, wealth and wellbeing of the UK and the wider world. The Academy has been key to thinking about how these impacts are realised and championing diversity in medical science careers.

I want to pay tribute to Professor Michael Malim  who has been such a success in his term. I am delighted to take over the role from Michael to work with Professor Dame Anne Johnson, our Academy President, the Honorary Officers, the wider Fellowship and the fantastic team of professional staff.”

Professor Dame Anne Johnson, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences, added: "I am very pleased to welcome Professor James Naismith  to the Academy’s Honorary Officers, as Vice President (Non-Clinical). Professor Naismith is a distinguished researcher whose broad experience means he is well placed to support the scientific leaders of the future and engage our whole community with the work of the Academy. He will have much to contribute as we deliver the priorities in our ambitious 10-year strategy, to achieve good health for all supported by the best research and evidence. I am very much looking forward to working with him in the coming years.

“I would also like to thank Professor Michael Malim, who has served as Vice President (Non-Clinical) for the past four years. He has engaged widely with many of the Academy's activities, including supporting the Academy’s work through the COVID-19 pandemic, and contributing his ongoing service on the Academy of Medical Sciences Professorship Scheme Panel, on which he recently assumed responsibility as the interim Chair.”

Professor Naismith will take up his position as Vice President (Non-Clinical) with effect from the Academy’s Annual General Meeting on Tuesday 6 December 2022.